The Awesomeness of Being Hamburg


Hey there, it’s been a while since I have last posted – you know, busy with work and nice weather.

So, here’s my “I’m-back-post” from Hamburg, where I am on a business trip. That means I get

– an awesome hotel room

– restaurant visits (on my company’s account)

– city life for a few days

– cool local foods and drinks

Really, whenever I’m here, I feel so provincial. Especially when I’m in the grocery store (namely Edeka), where there is such a huge selection of fairtrade, bio and local goods, exquisite foods, drinks, snacks, wines, ciders, mustards, and, and, and… A normal store over here basically equals a delicacy shop in Wiesbaden.

Even though the weather was bad – well, or maybe in Hamburg they’d call it good since it didn’t rain – I walked around the Hafen City and the harbour, being impressed by all those old storage and warehouses that are now super expensive lofts.. You can easily spend a Million bucks on a 100 sq meter, two room appartement.

DSC_5316 DSC_5384a DSC_5403 DSC_5404 DSC_5406

Another cool thing to do, if you want it a bit fancier than Reeperbahn and St. Pauli (the red light / bar district) is the rooftop bar “20 Up”. I mean, they do have a dresscode, which isn’t everybody’s cup of tea, but you’re offered stunning views over the city and the port area. The cocktails are of course a bit pricy, but to their defense – they give out a variety of delicious, free nuts.

DSC_5435d (15)

Last but not least, for the sporty ones of you, there is a really cool running path around the Außenalster, that’s like 7.5 Kilometers long. It’s a nice way to combine your training with some sightseeing / foto shoots of beautiful things aroung the loop (pretty flower, sailing boats… Things like that). For me it was just a good excuse to be able to stop every now and then to take a pic and relax 🙂

DSC_5435d (9) DSC_5419 (18)

Leave a Reply

