Mainz – My First Halfmarathon – Mein erster Halbmarathon

————- Deutsche Version weiter unten —————-

The day had finally come – my first ever halfmarathon! And lord, was I scared.. Scared, excited, nervous, regretfull…Why did I sign up for that?

But first let me tell you , that I’ ve had a major performance drop during the past weeks and couldn’t really train much – until they found out that I lacked iron and had to take iron tablets starting 10 days before the race, which improved my situation.

Anyways. the day had come. I found myself in a huge crowd of people, waiting for it to start, getting my MP3 player ready, being scared of the distance (21.1k / 13.1miles) – basically being a nervous mess.

At 9:30 I saw confetti being thrown up in the far distance – the start line – 5 minutes later the crowd around me began to move, and I finally got to the starting point.

What a feeling – people cheering, my husband was there shouting my name and I just ran and smiled. And checked my watch that told me: Girl, you better slow down!!!

KM 1: Uhhh, its going good.. I am Queen of the world and maybe I will win this race 🙂

KM 3: Hot, hot, hot, hot… Humid, hot. It’ll probably be a hot race.

KM 4: Hot. I can’t wait to finally reach KM 15 – then I’ll be almost there

KM: 5 Hot and boring. Why do we run through the industrial part of the city (Mombach)?? Some people are already walking!

KM 7: Yay, had lots of water and some gel (carbs) – Running is so much fun! Almost at KM 10!

KM 10: Finally back in downtown. More people, more motivation. Someone is holding up a sign: SMILE IF YOU DON’T WEAR UNDERWEAR!! I smiled (and of course I did wear underwear)

KM 12: Hey Babe! Saw my husband cheering at the Christuskirche. I’m smiling like on drugs – must be the runner’s high! Time for some Selfies.

KM 14: Downton party. I am literally flying! Lots of fun, lots of smiles, more selfies

KM 15: Off to the Weisenau loop – 2.5k there and back… Watching the faster runners already come back on the other side, being tempted to just hop over the barriers and join them on their way to the finish line. But can’t believe I’m finally at KM 15

KM 16-18: Have I mentioned that it’s hot. Have I missed the last water station? Can’t wait for more water! My hand tells me: KEEP RUNNING (I had written that on in case it gets hard).

KM 18: Turning point! YAY. Three more KM. Why is my butt hurting – note for myself: Train butt muscles.

KM 19: No pain – no gain – at least now I’m on the “good” side of the loop – even slower runners are still just coming in on the other side. I am singing “New York – New York” by Frank Sinatra to think about something else but running.

KM 20: AWESOME. I’m so so happy I almost ran a halfmarathon – I literally nearly had to cry.

KM 20.7: Time to speed up things a little. Managed to get my fastest pace on the finish line, overtook some more people, what an aweome feeling. I can hear the music. I can see the finish line. I’m running. And running. as if the devil himself would be chasing me. And finally!!!!! I am crossing it! Done. Where are the people who hand out medals and food? Shit where am I going to meet my husband? Uhh – bananas and cookies.

Me standing there with 2 cups, a pretzel, a banana, a cookie, my gopro, cheeks full of food, reaching for more until I see people are smiling and I realize that I am hording food! And is that lady actually taking a picture of me right now?

Waht a great experience! Running is so much fun and it makes such a difference to stay hydrated!! That hasn’t been my last race – I may have gotten addicted. What’s next?

_________________________________________________________________

Der Tag war gekommen: Mein erster Halbmarathon. Oh mann, ich hab ganz schön Angst und Bammel. Warum hab ich mich da angemeldet?

Nach einem bösen Leistungstief in den letzten Wochen konnte ich nicht wirklich trainieren, bis sich herausstellte: Ich hab Eisenmangel. 10 Tage vor dem Rennen hab ich dann mit den Eisentabletten angefangen – und es hat sich gebessert.

Nun ja, der Tag war jedenfalls da. Ich war plötzlich inmitten einer riesigen Menschenmenge und wartete auf den Startschuss.. mit einem riesen Respekt vor der Strecke.

Um 9.30 sehe ich Konfetti auffliegen – weit, weit vorne. 5 Minuten später bin ich selbst am Rennen – and so it begins: Was für ein Gefühl, alle jubeln uns zu und ich sehe meinen Mann in der Menge! Ich schau auf meine Uhr, die mir sagt: Mädel – mach langsamer!!!

KM1: I feel good! Alles super, vielleicht gewinne ich ja sogar 🙂

KM3: Puh, heiß.. Heiß und schwül. Wird wohl nicht besser werden mit der Hitze.

KM 4: Heiß. Hoffentlich bin ich bald bei KM 15 – dann hab ich’s fast geschafft

KM 5: Heiß und langweilig. Warum laufen wir durch Mombach (Industrieviertel)?? Wow, manche gehen schon.

KM 7: Yay, hab viel getrunken und mir ein Gel reingezogen. Laufen macht so viel Spaß – fast 10 KM geschafft.

KM 10: Endlich wieder in der Mainzer Innenstadt. Wieder mehr Publikum, die Motivation steigt. Jemand hält ein Schild hoch mit der Aufschrift: SMILE IF YOU DONT WEAR UNDERWEAR – und ich muss lachen (natürlich unbegründet).

KM 12: Hey babe!!: Mein Mann steht an der Christuskirche- Ich lächle die ganze Zeit vor mir her – das muss das Runner’s High sein. Zeit für ein paar Selfies!

KM 14: Party in der Innenstadt. Ich glaub ich fliege, es läuft voll gut. Mehr Smiles, noch mehr Selfies.

KM 15: Auf geht’s in die Weisenau-Schleife! 2.5 KM hin und zurück. Ich schau mir die schnelleren Läufer auf der anderen Seite an, und überlege kurz einfach über die Absperrung zu hüpfen und mit denen zum Ziel zu laufen. Endlich bin ich bei KM 15!!

KM 16-18 Hab ich erwähnt, dass es ziemlich warm ist? Hab ich die letzte Verpflegungsstation verpasst? Ich freu mich schon auf mehr Wasser!!

KM 18: Der Wendepunkt! Wow – noch 3 KM. Mein Allerwertester tut weh – da muss ich wohl noch die Muskeln mal trainieren.

KM 19: No pain, no gain. Zumindest bin ich auf der anderen Seite der Schleife und laufe dem Ziel entgegen. Manche kommen hier erst drüben an.. Ich singe „New York-New York“ von Frank Sinatra mit um mich abzulenken. Auf meiner Hand steht: KEEP RUNNING. Hatte ich vorher als Reminder draufgeschrieben – falls die Beine schwer werden.

KM 20: YAYYYYY Ich freu mich so sehr. Bin fast nen Halbmarathon gelaufen. Ich fange buchstäblich fast an zu heulen auf der Strecke!!

KM 20.7: Mal schauen was noch geht. Endspurt? Ja. Hatte hier meine schnellste Pace, hab noch Leute überholt. Jetzt kann ich die Musik und die Leute hören. Ich sehe das Ziel. Ich laufe, als wäre der Tod hinter mir her…. und ÜBER DIE ZIELLINIE!!! Geschafft. Wo sind die Leute mit den Medaillen? Wo sind die Snacks? Mist, wo werde ich meinen Mann wieder treffen? Ich hoffe, der findet mich!! Ahhh, Bananen und Kekse!

Am Ende stehe ich da mit 2 Bechern, einer Bretzel, einer Banane, einem Keks und meiner GoPro. Die Backen voller Essen. Der eine Typ hat schon ein bisschen gelacht. Macht die da grad ein Bild von mir??

Es war absolut cool, ne tolle Erfahrung und viel trinken hilft wirklich!! Auf jeden Fall war das nicht mein letzter Halbmarathon, mal schauen, was wo als nächstes ansteht!!

 

3 thoughts on “Mainz – My First Halfmarathon – Mein erster Halbmarathon

  1. Gratulation!

    Das mit den “Backen voller Essen” kann ich bestens nachvollziehen. Ich habe am Sonntag nach meinem 3. HM den Mann mit “WO SIND DIE BANANEN????” begrüßt. Ja, meine Güte… ich hab die halt nicht direkt gesehen. 😉

    Viele Grüße
    Katja

    Like

Leave a Reply

